Review: How to Grow the Peanut and 105 Ways of Preparing it for Human Consumption:

How to Grow the Peanut and 105 Ways of Preparing it for Human Consumption:
How to Grow the Peanut and 105 Ways of Preparing it for Human Consumption: by George Washington Carver

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Interesting to read the work of this iconic American figure. The most interesting part for me was the set of recipes he collected: “105 ways of preparing the peanuts for human consumption, with the hope that every farmer will learn to appreciate them and raise large quantities for his own consumption; and also with the hope that the city folk will find the diet not only wholesome, satisfying, healthful and appetizing, but very economical.” I really do have an urge to eat more peanuts now, although I’m still doubtful about some of the recipes, like no. 42, a fake sausage made with peanuts and bananas. I guess I shouldn’t knock it till I’ve tried it, though…

View all my reviews

Leave a comment